SJHL announces 2023/24 League Award Winners

The Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League are pleased to announce their individual league award winners for the 2023/24 season.

Battlefords North Stars forward Kian Bell (pictured above) was the big winner with two awards capturing his 2nd straight league Most Valuable Player and Top Forward award.

Bell came back from an early stint this season with WHL’s Edmonton Oil Kings and helped rejuvenate the North Stars surge back up the standings after a slow start, while also scoring 37 goals, 57 assists for 94 points in just 41 games to lead the league in points once again.

Bell’s North Star teammate Carson Olsen was rewarded being named the league’s Top Rookie. 

The 17 year old U-Mass Lowell commit netted 10 goals, 20 assists for 30 points in 51 games in his 1st season with the Battlefords.

A trio of Flin Flon Bombers have also been rewarded for their incredible season as Noah Houle has been named the SJHL’s Top Defenceman,  Harmon Laser-Hume was announced as the SJHL’s Goalie of the Year and their Head Coach & GM Mike Reagan was named SJHL Coach of the Year.

Laser-Hume finished top three in, wins, goals against average, & save percentage this past season, Houle, led all SJHL rear-guards in points with 68, 12 points clear of finalist Alex Izyk of the Battlefords North Stars and Reagan led the league’s top seeded to a league-best 44-9-2-1 record including 15 weeks as the CJHL’s #1 ranked team.

Humboldt Broncos forward Spencer Bell was awarded the first ever Saskatchewan Player of the Year award.

The product of Warman, SK scored a league-high 47 goals while adding 41 assists for 88 points to finish 2nd in league-scoring.

Finally, Mason Bueckert of the La Ronge Ice Wolves captured the SJHL Most Sportsmanlike Player. 

The Saskatoon product had a team-high 62 points in 56 games with the Ice Wolves while accumulating only 12 minutes in penalties. 

For a full look at the SJHL Award winners CLICK HERE

More from FOX FM