Mustangs capture SJHL Canterra Seeds Cup after Game 6 win over Flin Flon

For the fifth time in franchise history the Melfort Mustangs are Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League Champions.

The Mustangs captured the Canterra Seeds Cup title on Tuesday night after a 4-1 victory over the top-seeded Flin Flon Bombers to win the series 4 games to 2.

“Just can’t say enough about the character of this group all year long, battling for adversity and it’s pretty special group & proud of each and every one of them,” said Mustangs Head Coach & GM Trevor Blevins postgame.

After a scoreless first period, Tye Evans broke the goose-egg for Melfort as he beat Bomber netminder Harmon Laser-Hume to give them a 1-0 lead after 2 periods.

In the third, the Bombers tied things up just 4:24 into the third period as Justin Lies hammered home a powerplay goal of a nice feed from Noah Houle.

But just 66 seconds later Aidyn Hutchinson responded with the game winner as he banged home his 14th of the playoffs then added an empty netter after Canora’s Clay Sleeva added some insurance late.

Melfort netminder James Venne was once again outstanding made 29 saves on 30 shots in the win, while Harmon Laser-Hume of Flin Flon stopped 26 shots in the loss.

The Mustangs’ last title came in 2016, and they’ll now advance to the 2024 Centennial Cup in Oakville, Ontario that runs from May 9th to 19th, 2024

Mustangs defenceman Chase Friedt-Mohr was named the SJHL’s Playoff MVP after posting 23 points in the postseason.

More from FOX FM